Brewers Yard Quarry
© Crown Copyright: image reproduced with the permission of the Controller of Her Majesty’s Stationery Office.
A very unique former Bath stone quarry, the quarry is small in size but has some interesting features. The quarry comprises of two levels which are connected by a stone staircase and a vertical shaft connecting both levels with the surface. There are many blocks of Ashlar which were stacked up but never moved to the surface.
Posted by Higgypop Admin last updated Mon 18 Aug 2008 at 13:18
Corsham, Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Grid reference: ST845703
The quarry is currently open, however the step entrance is dangerous - it would be advisable to use a rope to ensure safe access.
Visited by 22 explorers
Photos of Brewers Yard Quarry
Brewers Yard Quarry history
A very steep and narrow slope shaft leads down in to the upper layer of the quarry. Once inside there is a narrow stone staircase which leads down in to the lower level of the quarry.
In the lower level many sawn blocks of Ashlar are stacked up but were never removed, this was possibly due to a collapse at a smaller shaft in the centre of the mine preventing the removal of the stone.
A shaft has been sunk from the surface down through both levels of the quarry, this would have been used to remove stone from both levels up to the surface. The shaft is now capped.
New to Nettleden?
Join our gang of urban explorers, get started by creating your free account...
- The secret sights of London
Discover abandoned and long forgotten secret bunkers, hideouts and derelict building in London.
- Secret underground bunkers in the UK
Discover some of the UK government's best kept secrets. From a little known hidden nuclear bunker Wiltshire to the huge active secret bunker right under Central London.
- Royal Observer Corps posts
ROC was given the responsibility of reporting nuclear attacks from hundreds bunkers across UK.
- Corsham quarries
A list of the quarries in and around Corsham.
- Disused London Underground stations
A list of disused stations on the London Underground.
- Brean Down Fort
The fort was built between 1864 and 1871 on the recommendations of the 1859 Royal Commission. Originally armed with seven 7" RMLs, it was disarmed in 1901, but rearmed with two 6" ex-naval guns during World War II. Recently restored and opened to the public by the National Trust.