Photo added by Higgypop Admin.
Brocklease Quarry is also known as Goblins Pit, it is currently used by Wansdyke Security for secure storage and as a vehicle depot.
Posted by Higgypop Admin last updated Mon 18 Aug 2008 at 17:37
Corsham, Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Grid reference: ST864681
No access, this is a private business premises.
Visited by no explorers
Photos of Brocklease Quarry
Brocklease Quarry history
Mining started here in 1900 and only stop when in 1939 the war department acquired Broclease Quarry along with Pickwick Quarry and they were converted in to temporary navy ammunition store, these would store around 10,000 tons of navy ammunition. Eventually, in 1941 the site was closed and storage was moved to Dean Hill in Wiltshire and Trecwn in Pembrokeshire. The site was unused for a time until in 1957 Wansdyke Security moved in and converted the mine in to a complex of underground secure vaults which they hired out to the public and private companies. Wansdyke still opporate at this site today as well as their larger depot in Monkton Farleigh and Westwood Quarry.
Documents & scans
Wansdyke Security brochure - An A4 brochure advertising secure underground storage at Wansdyke Security's facility in Monkton Farleigh Quarry.
New to Nettleden?
Join our gang of urban explorers, get started by creating your free account...
- The secret sights of London
Discover abandoned and long forgotten secret bunkers, hideouts and derelict building in London.
- Secret underground bunkers in the UK
Discover some of the UK government's best kept secrets. From a little known hidden nuclear bunker Wiltshire to the huge active secret bunker right under Central London.
- Royal Observer Corps posts
ROC was given the responsibility of reporting nuclear attacks from hundreds bunkers across UK.
- Corsham quarries
A list of the quarries in and around Corsham.
- Disused London Underground stations
A list of disused stations on the London Underground.
- Brean Down Fort
The fort was built between 1864 and 1871 on the recommendations of the 1859 Royal Commission. Originally armed with seven 7" RMLs, it was disarmed in 1901, but rearmed with two 6" ex-naval guns during World War II. Recently restored and opened to the public by the National Trust.