Limpley Stoke Quarry
Photo added by root.
Limpley Stoke is also known as Hayes Wood Quarry, after a 40 year gap this Bath stone quarry has returned to it's former use as a source of stone.
Posted by Higgypop Admin last updated Tue 19 Aug 2008 at 13:56
Limpley Stoke, Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Grid reference: ST779607
No access - this is an active stone quarry.
Visited by 3 explorers
Photos of Limpley Stoke Quarry
Limpley Stoke Quarry history
The mine is in Midford Lane, Limpley Stoke, just off the A36 south of Bath. The mine closed in 1940 and then reopened at the beginning of 1982 as there were still plenty of reserves of stone to be tapped. It’s output however now is limited by planning conditions to 20,000 tons per year.
One of the reasons that stone is mined here rather than quarried is it’s partial location within the Cotswolds Area of Natural Beauty. The proposals for the site do not change this, with expansions planned in the form of a new mine. Surface installations at the old mine will be removed and the area reclaimed for agricultural or forestry use. The new mine will be landscaped and new access provided.
Hayes Wood Mine produces roughly between 9-11,000 tones of stone each year. Planning permission for a 0.22km extension to the site was granted in June 1996. Reserves of saleable minerals were estimated at that time to be 395,850 tones. It is considered that there are workable reserves at the site for at least 18 years' production at current rates of output.
New to Nettleden?
Join our gang of urban explorers, get started by creating your free account...
- The secret sights of London
Discover abandoned and long forgotten secret bunkers, hideouts and derelict building in London.
- Secret underground bunkers in the UK
Discover some of the UK government's best kept secrets. From a little known hidden nuclear bunker Wiltshire to the huge active secret bunker right under Central London.
- Royal Observer Corps posts
ROC was given the responsibility of reporting nuclear attacks from hundreds bunkers across UK.
- Corsham quarries
A list of the quarries in and around Corsham.
- Disused London Underground stations
A list of disused stations on the London Underground.
- Brean Down Fort
The fort was built between 1864 and 1871 on the recommendations of the 1859 Royal Commission. Originally armed with seven 7" RMLs, it was disarmed in 1901, but rearmed with two 6" ex-naval guns during World War II. Recently restored and opened to the public by the National Trust.