Sandhill Park Estate
Photo added by Higgypop Admin.
Originally the Lethbridge family home, it was used as an army hospital during the WW2 and then put in to use as a hospital for handicapped children by the local council, it has since been closed down.
Posted by Higgypop Admin last updated Tue 05 May 2009 at 21:15
Bishops Lydeard, Somerset, United Kingdom
Grid reference: ST155298
Unknown, the site does have a security presence.
Visited by 5 explorers
Photos of Sandhill Park Estate
Sandhill Park Estate history
It was John Periam who built Sandhill Park in 1720 and it was lived in by the Lethbridge family from 1767 to 1913.
In 1919 the Somerset County Council bought the house and converted it into a home for handicapped children. During the Second World War it was used as a hospital by the American Army, but after the War it reverted to use as a hospital for handicapped children. The hospital has now been closed and the House is now a Fire Engine Museum.
The Domesday Book also records a second Manor LIDIARD (later Lydeard Punchardon in Bishops Lydeard). This Manor was held by Ailric but William the Conqueror possessed it by 1086, the income being £7 per annum.
By 1159 it was held by Hugh de Punchardon by knights' service to the Castle of Dunster. From the middle of the 13th Century to the 16th Century the Malet family appear to have held this Manor. During the Civil War the Government granted it to Colonel R.Bovett. He later supported Monmouth and was hanged for his pains on the orders of Judge Jeffries on Cothelstone Gateway in 1685.
The Dyke Acland family were substantial landowners for nearly two hundred years and from 1791 Lady Harriet Acland held the Manor until it was acquired by the Lethbridge family in the 1820's. This Manor is now known as East Lydeard.
In the news
Posted by Higgypop Admin on Tue 19 Aug 2008 at 21:15
Four men were sentenced to jail today after setting fire to a derelict mansion in Bishop's Lydeard, near Taunton.
New to Nettleden?
Join our gang of urban explorers, get started by creating your free account...
- The secret sights of London
Discover abandoned and long forgotten secret bunkers, hideouts and derelict building in London.
- Secret underground bunkers in the UK
Discover some of the UK government's best kept secrets. From a little known hidden nuclear bunker Wiltshire to the huge active secret bunker right under Central London.
- Royal Observer Corps posts
ROC was given the responsibility of reporting nuclear attacks from hundreds bunkers across UK.
- Corsham quarries
A list of the quarries in and around Corsham.
- Disused London Underground stations
A list of disused stations on the London Underground.
- Brean Down Fort
The fort was built between 1864 and 1871 on the recommendations of the 1859 Royal Commission. Originally armed with seven 7" RMLs, it was disarmed in 1901, but rearmed with two 6" ex-naval guns during World War II. Recently restored and opened to the public by the National Trust.