Photo added by Higgypop Admin.
A complex of man made caves under Bristol carved out of red sandstone. The caves are open to the public for one or two weekends a year, more details can be found on the Axbridge Caving Club website.
Posted by Higgypop Admin last updated Tue 19 Aug 2008 at 11:16
Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom
Grid reference: ST589723
No access but the caves are usually open to the public once a year during the Bristol Harbour Festival.
Visited by 6 explorers
Photos of Redcliffe Caves
Redcliffe Caves history
As the series of tunnels and caverns underneath Redcliffe are man made they are in fact a quarry not a cave. They were dug in to the red sand stone under the city, evidence of this can be seen around the cave by the pick marks in the ceiling and walls. There are no natural caves in this area.
The red ochre stone had many uses including producing a cheap dark green glass for bottles and a glaze which could be used in pottery, the caves are still owned today by a glass works.
The caves have a varied history, parts were used a sewerage systems, to hold French prisoners and of course because the caves are waterside there are stories of smugglers hiding out in the caves.
The caves have been split in two by the Redcliffe rail tunnel, the caves are assumed to continue South past the tunnel but the tunnel has blocked access to them completely for ever.
New to Nettleden?
Join our gang of urban explorers, get started by creating your free account...
- The secret sights of London
Discover abandoned and long forgotten secret bunkers, hideouts and derelict building in London.
- Secret underground bunkers in the UK
Discover some of the UK government's best kept secrets. From a little known hidden nuclear bunker Wiltshire to the huge active secret bunker right under Central London.
- Royal Observer Corps posts
ROC was given the responsibility of reporting nuclear attacks from hundreds bunkers across UK.
- Corsham quarries
A list of the quarries in and around Corsham.
- Disused London Underground stations
A list of disused stations on the London Underground.
- Brean Down Fort
The fort was built between 1864 and 1871 on the recommendations of the 1859 Royal Commission. Originally armed with seven 7" RMLs, it was disarmed in 1901, but rearmed with two 6" ex-naval guns during World War II. Recently restored and opened to the public by the National Trust.